Do What Ya Otta

For some reason, I tend to look at the negatives in life…oh wait–that is because I am human (just like YOU!).  Thoughts like, “I am not good enough,” “I wish I was taller,” or even, “I want to be able to do that” race through my head on a daily basis it seems like.  Well, when I came to camp I definitely felt pressure to be a certain way…like be able to play a guitar, sing well, or be a great actress for skits.  However, since arriving here I have realized that God has given me my own talent different than all of the above–dance!

Since I was younger I have loved to dance!  I took classes when I was a little tot but then put that aside to try other activities.  It was not until I got to high school and was on the dance team for one year (my junior year) that I realized my passion.  Although I may not have been the best on the team or able to choreograph fancy dances, I still loved the feeling of being able to express myself through dance.

Now, back to camp.  Being a large staff, about 80 of us or so, we are put into teams and then choose a “specialty” team.  I chose to participate in the drama team…only because the team that plans the banquet was full.  Needless to say, I was not happy to have to join the drama team–I don’t like to be an obnoxious actress and get up on stage (although I did when I was younger).  But, that is where I was and like always God had plans for me that I never would have imagined.

Our drama team decided to use our performance time to perform two skits with a dance number in between them.  There was my window of opportunity: dance!  Now I am not going to go into all of the details because that is not the point of this little story.  The moral of the story is that here at camp, everybody has a place…they can sing, play an instrument, act, dance, speak, lead, pray, write–the sky really is the limit!

God has given us all special gifts.  In life, we need to discover what it is and (here is the important part!!!) how we can use it to glorify Him.

“God gives us each a talent; what we do with our talent is our gift to God.”

In His name we pray, AMEN †

~krz†

One thought on “Do What Ya Otta

  1. thanks so much for sharing this. I constantly am comparing myself to other people here at camp too because I am not athletic enough or I am not pretty enough. It’s hard being a girl because I feel like our brains are triggered to have these feelings. Why do we have those feelings! I wish that we could just all be happy but it’s just not that simple is it…ugh!

Leave a Reply

