God is in the small stuff

Ever had a bad day at work?  Yeah…I had two in a row last week.  It was the worst.  Everything seemed to irritate me and I just wasn’t myself.  I brought the negativity home with me and had even vented it out on my friend…but that still didn’t help my frustration.

However, my perspective changed when I drove home from work later that week.  In an almost audible tone God reminded me that I am not perfect.  I live in a fallen world.  I will not always be patient.  I will never be satisfied here.

Having a bad day is going to happen…but should I let it hurt my spirit?  No.  These bad days are here to remind us of what lies ahead…a perfect eternity.  Think about it, if I was always patient and happy and satisfied here on earth, what would I have to look forward to?  Nothing.  Heaven wouldn’t seem like the paradise it was created to be.  Why…my time on earth should be a crappy time!

I have a tattoo on my wrist, ‘2 Corinthians 4:16-18‘ :

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”

We are all wasting away, day by day.  Some days, we waste away more than others…last week I was speed wasting.  But, at the same time…I was being renewed (and I didn’t even know it!)!  God was giving me those bad days as a way to make me draw closer to Him and depend on Him more.  He was helping me renew my spirit.

The best part?  The next day I had the best day at work.  Ever.  I honestly couldn’t think of one bad thing about my day.  It was amazing.  God is so good.

So the next time you have a bad day don’t pour out your negativity on those around you…who’s it going to benefit?  Only the devil.  God is always in the small stuff…even the bad.

†krz

Leave a Reply

