Captivated by His Creation

This post has been brewin’ for a few weeks now–I was just waiting for God to solidify His message and help to to understand the significance of it.  Ironically, I was chatting with my beautiful mother on the phone when it all clicked–ironic because this whole ‘idea’ began a few weeks ago while I was sitting around a campfire with my family.

It was that night that my mother asked my siblings and I each what our favorite Summer 2012 memory was.  Of course my brother loved going to the zoo and my sister was still gawking over her recently purchased Nook Tablet. I however, couldn’t decide; I did so much this summer and in that moment everything I did this past summer flashed through my mind.  But as my mind flipped through the metal photographs, I was suddenly able to answer the question–

“My favorite memory of this summer was on Lead Team Retreat when we laid under the darkest sky I have ever seen and stargazed.”

I can’t remember how many shooting stars I saw that night, but I do remember singing this song (in my head of course because no one should ever be subjected to hearing me sing and because Kari Jobe is so anointed):

Please note how awesome the background is on the this video as well 🙂

I wish I could share the beauty of that night…but I can’t.  I can however say that since that night, I have been completely captivated by the stars.  Which has led me to look at them every chance I can 🙂

Unfortunately, I live in a bigger city where lights illuminate the sky and mask some of the stars.  However, one recent night the sky was darker than normal (in my opinion).  So, in lieu of the occasion my roomie and and I decided to make hot cocoa and go to the overlook and gaze upon the ever beautiful stars.

I was again captivated by the beauty of our Lord’s creations.  No amount of words or megapixels could ever truly accurately share the beauty of them.  They are so indescribably beautiful.

Here is my point and what God has been trying to tell me: Jesus IS the stars.

He covers the earth just like the stars, yet not everyone sees His beauty for what it is–never ending.  Really though–can you look across a starry night sky and find the beginning or end?  No, and THAT is what Jesus’s love is…never ending and unfailing.  Can you describe Jesus’s love?  Well you can try really hard to but at the end of the day, we don’t even know how much He loves us because He loves us so much!  We only understand a small portion of His love, just like we only see a small portion of the stars (at a time).  That is just how it is.

But unlike the stars, Jesus is available to us and for us night AND day.  We don’t have to ‘wait’ for night to fall or the perfect conditions for us to see/feel His love and presence.  Although (I might add), some of us do–we wait for life to be good for us to praise Him when the blessings are coming in like ants at a picnic and everything is ‘perfect.’

But what about the times of trouble…think of the cloudy nights–even though you can’t see the stars, it doesn’t mean that they aren’t there  🙂  They are.   And I would have to say that they might be shining even brighter to fight through the clouds.  In our times of trouble, Jesus wants us so much more.

Looking at the lyrics to the video, I just love the chorus of the song:

The stars in the sky will hang there
’til You tell them to
The faith in my heart will still sing
Of what Your love can do
And even when life weighs heavy on me
I know You’re in control
And You’re all I need
The stars in the sky will hang there
’til You tell them to

Jesus is in control of this world and everything in it.  If He can manage all of the millions of stars, I am pretty sure He can handle our troubles as well.

Matthew 11:28 (NIV)

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

† Amen

Leave a comment